

CWEA Business Luncheon MINUTES

Thursday, August 29, 2013, 12:00 PM – 1:41 PM
2013 Annual CWEA Member Business Meeting
Tri-Association Conference, Roland Powell Convention Center,
Room 215, Ocean City, MD

The annual 2013 CWEA Business Luncheon Meeting opened at 12:10 pm with President Bob Beringer welcoming everyone, introducing WEF Visiting Officer Cordell Samuels, and the head table.

Following lunch, Visiting Officer, Cordell Samuels, spoke to attendees providing WEF's Strategic Direction that was adopted in 2012. WEF's direction calls for us to champion innovation; support stormwater management, green infrastructure, and integrated approaches that address water challenges efficiently and effectively. Cordell thanked luncheon attendees for their part in the industry.

Bob Beringer recognized one CWEA member achieving a lifetime membership with a plaque presented to Chip Wood at the luncheon.

Bob Beringer presented the following WEF and CWEA awards:

Bill Farrell(not present) for the Emerson Distinguished Service Award; William Ball(not present) for the Fair Medal; DC Water for WEF Safety; Sudhir Murthy(not present) for the George Bradley Gascoigne Medal; Wayne Ludwig for Outstanding Contribution to Wastewater Collection Systems; Cat Shrier(not present) for Schlenz Public Education; Congresswoman Donna Edwards(not present) for WEF Honorary Membership; Raindrop Award to Mark Charles and the Golden Manhole Award to Stacy Passaro.

Bob Beringer gave his final President's Report and presented a check to WERF.

Bob Beringer recognized John Fletcher for his contributions to CWEA and awarded him the President's Appreciation Award.

The Treasurer's report was given by Jane Bayer reflecting a checking account balance of \$55,620; with \$68,643. in savings.

Concluding Bob Beringer's final duty as CWEA President for the 2012-2013 term, he introduced the 2013-2014 Slate of CWEA Officers. Presentation of the "slate" was in accordance with current Bylaws, adhering to the minimum 30-day advance notice to CWEA membership, contained within the July and August e-CWEA News, and the Summer 2013 Ecoletter.

Hearing one motion from the floor, John Fletcher nominated Carlos Espinosa for Vice President. Ballots were handed out to the member association. Kraig Moodie, Alan Will and Tim Wolfe counted the ballots. Kraig presented the final count to Bob Beringer who presented the 2013-2014 Slate of Officers.

CWEA Annual Member Business Meeting MINUTES August 29, 2013 Page 2 of 2

Slate of CWEA 2013-2014 Officers:

PRESIDENT – **Burt Curry** (automatic advancement)

PRESIDENT – ELECT – **Tim Wolfe** (automatic advancement)

PAST PRESIDENT – **Bob Beringer** (automatic advancement)

VICE PRESIDENT – Chein-Chi Chang (elected)

SECRETARY – Kraig Moodie

TREASURER - Jane Bayer

PWO - Wayne Reed

MD TRUSTEE – **Paul Sayan** ['year two' of 3-year term]

DE TRUSTEE – **Jeff Cantwell** ['year three' of 3-year term]

DC TRUSTEE – **Tiffany Bain** ['year one' of 3-year term]

WEF DELEGATE – **Hiram Tanner** ['year three' of 3-year term]

WEF DELEGATE – **Ted DeBoda** ['year one' of 3-year term]

Motion No. 84-13: Motion by Bob Beringer, seconded by Kraig Moodie, to accept the 2013-2014 CWEA Slate of Officers. VICE PRESIDENT – **Chein-Chi Chang**; DC TRUSTEE – **Tiffany Bain**; and WEF DELEGATE – **Ted DeBoda.** Motion carried.

The ceremonial passing of the gavel from President Bob Beringer to Burt Curry took place with President Burt Curry awarding the Past President's plaque to Bob Beringer.

President Burt Curry then concluded the 2013 annual CWEA Business Luncheon.

Motion No. 85-13: Motion to adjourn the 2013 annual CWEA Business Luncheon was made by Burt Curry, seconded by Jane Bayer. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 1:41 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheryl Paulin
CWEA Assistant Administrator

Submitted to the Administrator and Secretary for Review and Comment: 9/15/13

Submitted to the Board for adoption review: 9/15 /13

Edited and Printed: 10/25/13