2016 Annual CWEA Business Meeting Minutes



September 1, 2016 Roland Powell Convention Center Ocean City, MD

The Annual Business Meeting was conducted on September 1, 2016 in the Bay Front Ballroom of the Roland E. Powell Convention Center in Ocean City, Maryland during the Tri-Association Conference.

President Chein-Chi Chang called the meeting to order at approximately 12:00 noon.

President Chein-Chi Chang Introduced the Head Table

Awards

President Chein-Chi Chang then presented awards.

WEF MA Awards

- Bedell Award Rudy Chow
- Laboratory Analyst Award Dr. Anjuman A. Islam

•

<u>CWEA Abel Wolman Award</u> – George S. Hawkins

Alan Will inducted the 5S Class of 2016 – Jane McDonough, Aaron Hughes, Chein-Chi Chang, Cece Nguyen

<u>CWEA Awards</u> (Various Presenters)

- WEF Life Member
- Golden Raindrop Jane McDonough
- Golden Manhole Anna Santino and Aaron Hughes
- TriCon Committee Kristi Perri
- Asset Management Gage Muckelroy

President's Awards (President Chein-Chi Chang)

- TriCon Leadership Gian Cossa
- Standing Ovation Marlou Gregory
- Key to success Zachary Weeks
- Fast Starter Yi Kuo
- Rising Star Chris Lien
- Shining Star Shirley Jinks
- Super Manager William Elledge

CWEA Annual Business Meeting Minutes September 1, 2016 Page 2 of 3

- Circle of Excellence Baltimore City DPW, WSSC, and DC Water
- Lifetime Achievement Robert Beringer and Hiram Tanner Jr.
- Young Professional of the Year Pono Hanson
- Woman Engineer of the Year Liliana Maldonado
- Engineer of the Year Art Sharpiro
- President's Circle Award Joseph Mantua and Biju George
- President Award Edward Shea

•

Treasurer's Report – Reported by Ted DeBoda

President's Report - Chein-Chi Chang

Amendment of CWEA Bylaws [No vote was taken on the proposed Bylaws Amendment.]

2016-2017 Officer Elections

Automatic Advancements

- Chein-Chi Chang Past President
- Kraig Moodie President
- Jennifer Moore President-Elect

•

Continuation in Office (Multi-Year Terms)

- Burt Curry WEF Delegate
- Jim Shelton Delaware Trustee
- Laura Jo Oakes Maryland Trustee

New Elections

Nominees were presented for each office requiring a member vote, including invitations for floor nominees. Ballots were distributed and collected for counting during the duration of the program.

Addresses

- WEF Representative Jackie Jarrell, Charlotte Water Chief of Operations
- Ted Henefin, General Manager, Hampton Roads Sanitation District

•

Officer Elections (cont.)

CWEA Annual Business Meeting Minutes September 1, 2016 Page 3 of 3

New Elections

Ballot tallies having been completed, the following Officers for 2016-2017 were announced:

- Ellen Frketic Vice President
- Tim Wolfe WEF Delegate
- Gian Cossa DC Trustee
- Jane Bayer Treasurer
- Alan Will Secretary

Passing of the Gavel

Chein-Chi Chang passed the President's Gavel to Kraig Moodie.

President Kraig Moodie presented the Past President's Plaque to Chein-Chi Chang.

New President's Comments – Kraig Moodie

Conference Announcements – Kraig Moodie

President Kraig Moodie declared the Annual Business Meeting adjourn